Getting Started

To begin searching within the
Government Manual simply type in a keyword or phrase to find your match.

Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board

625 Indiana Avenue NW., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20004



CHAIR Sean P. Sullivan
Vice Chair Bruce Hamilton

Member Joyce l. Connery
Member Jessie H. Roberson
Member Sean P. Sullivan

General Counsel James P. Biggins
General Manager Glenn Sklar

Technical Director Steven Stokes

Deputy General Counsel (vacancy)
Deputy General Manager (vacancy)
Deputy Technical Director Adam Poloski

The above list of key personnel was updated 07–2017.

The above list of key personnel was updated 07–2017.

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board identifies the nature and consequences of public health and safety threats at the Department of Energy's defense nuclear facilities, elevates awareness of and information on such threats to the highest levels of governmental authority, and keeps the public informed.

Organizational Chart

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board was established as an independent agency on September 29, 1988, by the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended (42 U.S.C. 2286 et seq.).

The Board comprises five members whom the President appoints with the advice and consent of the Senate. Appointees to the Board must be U.S. citizens and experts in the field of nuclear safety.


The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board reviews and evaluates the content and implementation of standards for the design, construction, operation, and decommissioning of the Department of Energy's defense nuclear facilities; investigates any incident or practice at these facilities that may adversely affect public health and safety; and reviews and monitors their design, construction, and operation. The Board makes recommendations to the Secretary of Energy to ensure adequate protection of public health and safety. When the Board determines that any aspect of operations, practices, or occurrences at these Department of Energy defense nuclear facilities presents an imminent or severe threat to public health and safety, the Board transmits its recommendations directly to the President.

Sources of Information


Information on career opportunities is available online. | Email:

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

An information seeker may submit a FOIA request by email, mail, or telephone for records held or believed to be held by the Board. To make a request by mail, write to the Information / FOIA Officer, Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board, 625 Indiana Avenue NW., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20004. Phone, 202-694-7000. | Email:

Open Government

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board supports the Open Government initiative to strengthen the principles of collaboration, participation, and transparency.

Safety Management

The Victor Stello, Jr., Award was established by the Board to recognize Department of Energy employees for exemplary leadership in promoting safety management in the Department's defense nuclear complex.

Site Representative Offices

Site representatives produce a weekly report summarizing the pertinent activities and events that occurred during that week at their site. Five Defense Nuclear Facilities locations—Hanford, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Pantex, Savannah River Site, and Y–12 National Security Complex / Oak Ridge National Laboratory—have at least one site representative currently assigned to them.

Developed by: Government Printing Office | Digital Media Services (DMS)