Getting Started

To begin searching within the
Government Manual simply type in a keyword or phrase to find your match.

Commodity Futures Trading Commission

1155 Twenty-first Street NW, Washington, DC 20581


202-418-5514 (TTY)


CHAIR J. Christopher Giancarlo, Acting
Commissioner Sharon Y. Bowen
Commissioner (vacancy)
Commissioner (vacancy)
Commissioner (vacancy)

Chief Economist Sayee Srinivasan
Chief Information Officer John L. Rogers
Director, Division of Clearing and Risk John C. Lawton, Acting
Director, Division of Enforcement James McDonald
Director, Division of Market Oversight Amir Zaidi
Director, Division of Swap Dealer and Intermediary Oversight Eileen T. Flaherty
Director, Office of International Affairs Eric J. Pan
Director, Office of Legislative Affairs N. Charles Thornton III
Director, Office of Minority and Women Inclusion Lorena McElwain
Office of Public Affairs Steven W. Adamske
Inspector General A. Roy Lavik
General Counsel Daniel J. Davis

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission avoids systemic risk; fosters open, transparent, competitive, and financially sound markets; and protects the market users and their funds, consumers, and the public from fraud, manipulation, and abusive practices related to derivatives and other products that are subject to the Commodity Exchange Act.

Organizational Chart

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission was established by the Commodity Futures Trading Commission Act of 1974 (7 U.S.C. 2). The Commission began operation in April 1975, and its authority to regulate futures trading was renewed by Congress in 1978, 1982, 1986, 1992, 1995, 2000, and 2008. In 2010, the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (Public Law 111–203, Title VII) gave the Commission new and expanded responsibilities and authorities for regulation of the swaps marketplace.

The Commission comprises five Commissioners whom the President appoints with the advice and consent of the Senate. One Commissioner is designated by the President to serve as the Chair. The Commissioners serve staggered 5-year terms, and no more than three of them may belong to the same political party.

The Commission has nine major operating components: the Divisions of Market Oversight, Clearing and Risk, Swap Dealer and Intermediary Oversight, Enforcement, and the Offices of the Executive Director, the General Counsel, the Chief Economist, International Affairs, and Data and Technology. The Office of Inspector General is an independent organizational unit at the Commission.


The Commission regulates trading on the U.S. futures and options markets that offer commodity futures and options contracts, as well as the swaps marketplace in the United States. This oversight of the derivatives marketplace is carried out through the various activities of the Commission.

The Commission oversees derivatives clearing organizations and other market participants in the clearing process, including futures commission merchants, swap dealers, major swap participants, and large traders. The Commission oversees the registration and compliance of intermediaries and futures industry self-regulatory organizations, including U.S. derivatives exchanges and the National Futures Association. It also oversees trade execution facilities and data repositories, conducts surveillance, reviews new exchange applications, and examines existing exchanges to ensure compliance with applicable core principles. Under the Dodd-Frank Act, the Commission is responsible for developing and monitoring compliance with regulations addressing registration, business conduct standards, capital adequacy, and margin requirements for swap dealers and major swap participants.

Exercising the Commission's authority, its staff also investigates and prosecutes alleged violations of the Commodity Exchange Act and Commission regulations. Potential violations include fraud, manipulation, and other abuses concerning commodity derivatives and swaps that threaten market integrity, market participants, and the general public.

Sources of Information

Business Opportunities

The Commission has recurring requirements for the following goods: furniture, office equipment and supplies, and telecommunications equipment and supplies. It also has recurring requirements for copying and printing services and minor construction.

Career Opportunities

The Commission hires professionals with strong academic records and superior analytical and problem solving skills.

Electronic Updates

An online subscription form is available to receive email updates.

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

Information on how to submit a FOIA request is available online.


The online glossary defines some of the specialized words and phrases heard in the futures industry. Standard reference works do not include many of them.

Press Room

The press room features events, press releases, remarks, statements, and testimonies.

Regional Offices

The Commission maintains regional offices in Chicago, IL, and New York, NY, where many of the Nation's designated contract markets are located. Phone, 312-596-0700 (IL); Phone, 646-746-9700 (NY). A third regional office is located in Kansas City, MO. Phone, 816-960-7700.

Site Map

The Web site map allows visitors to look for specific topics or to browse content that aligns with their interests.


The Commission demonstrates its commitment to transparency by posting data, information on activities and rulemaking matters, and records and reports online.

Whistleblower Program

The Commission gives monetary incentives to whistleblowers who report possible Commodity Exchange Act violations that lead to a successful enforcement action. The Commission also provides antiretaliation protections, confidentiality, and privacy.

Developed by: Government Printing Office | Digital Media Services (DMS)