Getting Started

To begin searching within the
Government Manual simply type in a keyword or phrase to find your match.

National Security Council

Eisenhower Executive Office Building, Washington, DC 20504



CHAIR Donald J. Trump
Mark T. Esper
Michael R. Pence
Michael R. Pompeo


Richard A. Grenell, Acting
Gen. Mark A. Milley, USA


Chief of Staff to the President Mark R. Meadows
Counsel to the President Pasquale A. Cipollone
Director of the National Economic Council Lawrence A. Kudlow
National Security Adviser Robert C. O'Brien
Secretary of the Treasury Steven T. Mnuchin
U.S. Representative to the United Nations Kelly K. Craft

The National Security Council was established by the National Security Act of 1947, as amended (50 U.S.C. 402). The Council was placed in the Executive Office of the President by Reorganization Plan No. 4 of 1949 (5 U.S.C. app.).

The President chairs the National Security Council. Its statutory members, in addition to the President, are the Vice President and the Secretaries of State and Defense. The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff is the statutory military adviser to the Council, and the Director of National Intelligence serves as its intelligence adviser. The Secretary of the Treasury, the U.S. Representative to the United Nations, the Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs, the Assistant to the President for Economic Policy, and the Chief of Staff to the President are invited to all meetings of the Council. The Attorney General and the Director of National Drug Control Policy are invited to attend meetings pertaining to their jurisdictions, and other officials are invited, as appropriate.

The Council advises and assists the President in integrating all aspects of national security policy as it affects the United States—domestic, foreign, military, intelligence, and economic—in conjunction with the National Economic Council.

Developed by: Government Printing Office | Digital Media Services (DMS)