Getting Started

To begin searching within the
Government Manual simply type in a keyword or phrase to find your match.

Administrative Conference of the United States

1120 Twentieth Street NW., Suite 706 South, Washington, DC 20036



CHAIR (vacancy)
Executive Director Matthew L. Wiener

Chief Financial and Operations Officer Harry M. Seidman
Deputy General Counsel David M. Pritzker
General Counsel Shawne C. McGibbon
Public Affairs Coordinator Abigail Price
Research Chief Reeve T. Bull


VICE CHAIR Matthew L. Wiener

Member Ronald A. Cass
Member Danielle C. Gray
Member Ronald A. Klain
Member Theodore B. Olson
Member Jane C. Sherburne
Member Geovette E. Washington

Member (vacancy)
Member (vacancy)
Member (vacancy)

The above list of key personnel was updated 06–2017.

The above list of key personnel was updated 06–2017.

The Administrative Conference of the United States develops recommendations for improving the fairness and effectiveness of procedures by which Federal agencies administer regulatory, benefit, and other Government programs.

Organizational Chart

The Administrative Conference of the United States was established as a permanent independent agency by the Administrative Conference Act (5 U.S.C. 591-596) enacted in 1964. The Conference is the successor to two temporary Administrative Conferences during the Eisenhower and Kennedy administrations.

The Conference ceased operations on October 31, 1995, due to termination of funding by Congress. Congress reauthorized the Conference in 2004 and again in 2008. The 2004 legislation expanded its responsibilities to include specific attention to achieving more effective public participation and efficiency, reducing unnecessary litigation, and improving the use of science in the rulemaking process. Funding was approved in 2009, and the Conference was officially reestablished in March 2010.

By statute, the Administrative Conference has no fewer than 75 and no more than 101 members, a majority of whom are Government officials. The President appoints the Chair of the Conference with the advice and consent of the Senate for a 5-year term. The Council, which acts as an executive board, comprises the Chair and 10 other members whom the President appoints for 3-year terms. Federal officials named to the Council may not constitute more than half of the total Council membership. The Chair, the only full-time, compensated member of the Conference, appoints members representing the private sector with the approval of the Council for 2-year terms.

The entire membership is divided into committees. Each committee is assigned a broad area of interest such as adjudication, administration and management, judicial review, regulation, or rulemaking. The membership meeting in plenary session constitutes the Assembly of the Conference, which by statute must meet at least once, and customarily meets twice, each year.


Subjects for inquiry are developed by the Chair and approved by the Council, often based on input from government and nongovernment experts in administrative procedure. The committees conduct thorough studies of these subjects and propose recommendations, based on supporting reports, ordinarily prepared for the Conference by expert consultants. Recommendations are evaluated by the Council and, if ready for Assembly consideration, are distributed to the membership with the supporting reports and placed on the agenda of the next plenary session for discussion and a final vote. The general public may attend committee and Assembly deliberations.

Recommendations adopted by the Conference may be addressed to administrative agencies, Congress, the President, or the Judicial Conference. Most recommendations call for action on the part of affected agencies or for new legislation. While a substantial number of recommendations have been implemented, implementation activities are continually ongoing.

The Chair may make independent inquiries into procedural matters, including matters proposed by individuals inside or outside the Government. These inquiries help determine whether the problems should be made the subject of Conference study in the interest of developing fairer or more effective or efficient procedures.

Upon the request of a department or agency head, the Chair is authorized to advise and assist on matters of administrative procedure. The Conference may collect information and statistics from departments and agencies and publish reports that it considers useful for evaluating and improving administrative processes. The Conference also serves as a forum for the interchange among departments and agencies of information that may be useful for improving administrative practices and procedures.

Sources of Information


The blog "Administrative Fix" is available on the Conference's Web site.


A calendar of meetings and events is available online.


Current job openings and information on internships and the research fellow program are accessible online.

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

FOIA requests may be submitted using the online request form. Phone, 202-480-2080.


An online newsroom features blog articles and news releases.


Articles, books, papers, reports, and bibliographies are accessible online.


The "Resources For" Web pages provide convenient access to the electronic resources that are available on the Conference's Web site.

Site Map

The Web site map allows visitors to look for specific topics or to browse content that aligns with their interests. | Email:

Developed by: Government Printing Office | Digital Media Services (DMS)